Dan Sciarretta

Dan Sciarretta

Director of Client Service

As Director of Client Service, Dan provides strategy and oversight for the client service department and serves as a liaison between client service and other internal teams. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ professional and began his career as an advisor before transitioning into firm operations and strategy. Prior to joining Modera, Dan held leadership roles with other fee-only Registered Investment Advisors (RIAs), including six years with Altair Advisers in Chicago, IL and three years with RegentAtlantic in Morristown, NJ. Dan received a Bachelor of Science in financial services from San Diego State University and completed an international exchange program at La Trobe University in Melbourne, Australia.

What do you enjoy most about working at Modera?

I am truly impressed by the warm and cohesive culture at Modera – something that is claimed by so many companies but practiced by so few. Colleagues inside and outside of my department were very welcoming when I joined the company. I’m grateful to be surrounded by so many smart and genuinely pleasant people. I feel a shared sense of purpose here, which creates infectious motivation.

What has been a particularly rewarding moment in your career?

Nothing has brought me more fulfillment than former team members telling me I made a positive impact on their career. I am always honored when a colleague comes to me seeking coaching or advice on a pivotal career decision. The ultimate reward is seeing someone you care about reach their full potential. I strive to serve as an advocate for my client service team in a similar capacity.

When you’re not working you’re…?

Playing one of the many sports I enjoy. I was born with Erb’s Palsy, a neurological condition that caused partial paralysis of my left arm, so most sports present certain obstacles. I appreciate the challenge of finding workarounds that allow me to compete despite my limitations. Using some rather unorthodox techniques, I have been able to play baseball, golf, and various racquet sports (mainly platform tennis) at a high level.

Where did you grow up? Where do you live now?

I was born and raised in Benicia, California – a small waterfront town in the San Francisco Bay Area. After stops in San Diego, CA, Melbourne, Australia, Morristown, NJ, and Chicago, IL – I moved to Charlotte in 2021. I am delighted to be settling down in the Southeast.